Sunday, September 28, 2014

Lactose Intolerant? You might still enjoy Raw Goat Cheese

So many people today are lactose intolerant to varying degrees. This often means a life of avoiding many of hte wonderfully tasty foods others enjoy. BUT.. cheese does not have to be one of them!

Goat cheese, especially RAW goat cheese, is usually totally fine for people that are lactose intolerant. There are two reasons for this wonderful phenomena.

First, Goat milk is much easier to digest than cows milk. Goat milk is naturally homogenized, which means it is much easier and quicker to digest, thereby causing less if any irritation.  The cheese made from goat milk inherits this quality and is also much easier to digest.  So  lactose intolerant people can usually drink goats milk as well as enjoy goat cheeses without worry.

Second, RAW cheeses are special. Raw cheese are aged for a minimum of 60 days, often longer (we usually wait 90 days before going to market with a block).  During this aging time the cheese continues a slow fermentation process that turns the lactose into the wonderfully sharp flavor of cheese.  By the end of 60 to 90 days, most of the lactose is gone! Non-Raw cheese may or may not be aged this long and thereby may or may not contain lactose.

So, there are two good reasons to try raw goat cheese, even if you are unable to enjoy dairy products normally.  but wait.. there's more!....

Flavor! our raw goat cheese is NOTHING like any goat cheese you have ever tried. There is no notion of "goat" in the flavor of this cheese. It has a pure cheese flavor, in a nicely white block of cheese. Most people that try our cheese are shocked to discover it is goat! There are lots of reasons for this, but the bottom line here is.. it does not taste like goat cheese!

So give our cheese a try! you might be pleasantly surprised and open up a new world of healthy flavors for yourself :)

No comments:

Post a Comment